I’ve baked cake. I never bake cake.

Today I baked my first cake.  All that weighing, measuring and timing is a bit regimented for my kind of cooking so I’m on a high. Three tins of pears have been lurking in that cupboard for god knows how long. Let’s just say I shall not be telling my samplers their sell by date. I had to buy the baking powder, brown sugar and vanilla essence (extra store cupboard ingredients) but my defense is that they will enable me to use up other store cupboard ingredients. It was bloody delicious and I am feeling proud I am learning a new skill. Thank you http://foodapparel.com/pear-cake/ for the recipe.

pear cake ingredientsPear upside down cake

Store Cupboard Ingredients Used Today

  • 2 tins of pears
  • Plain flour
  • Caster sugar
  • Oil
  • 1 egg
  • Salt

Food in Fridge

  • Butter
  • Milk

Food Expenditure

  • Brown sugar – £1.39
  • Vanilla flavouring – 89p
  • Baking powder – 73p
  • Total Expenditure – £3.01

PS- I forgot to mention dinner. That was courtesy of my good mother. I went round for a visit and she fed us.

Leave a Reply

